Solid Waste Management Authority


  • 3rd Thursday of every month

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas area available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Marcello Banes
  • Ronnie Cowan
  • Stan Edwards
  • Kent Campbell, Jr.
  • Buddy Morgan
  • Linda Hannah
  • Phillip Wise

 Authority Overview

The Newton County landfill is operated by the Newton County Solid Waste Management Authority (SWMA). The SWMA consists of a seven-member board of directors which includes the Chairman of the Newton County Board of Commissioners, two Newton County Commissioners and four citizens selected by the board of commissioners. 

For more information on the SWMA, the authority's secretary, Laurie Riley, can be reached at 678-625-5090.