Newton County Board of Tax Assessors


  • 2nd and 4th Monday of every month at 4 p.m. in the Newton County Executive Offices, 1113 Usher Street, Covington


  • Marvin Maner
  • Vernon Bell
  • Charles Berry
  • Jackie Smith
  • Kevin E. Mitcham
  • Veronica Hardy, Secretary 

Board Responsibilities

The Board of Tax Assessors employ the Chief Appraiser who is responsible for the operation and functioning of the county property appraisal staff as per OCGA 48-5-290, 264 and 299. 


Appointed by the Board of Commissioners for staggered six-year terms 

The chief appraiser, along with staff, determines all property values and maintains county tax records with maps for tax purposes, compiles building costs, prepares annual assessments, adheres to policies set forth by the Georgia Department of Revenue, assists the Board of Tax Assessors and the Board of Equalization.