Board of Zoning Appeals


  • 4th Thursday of every month

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Dr. Nick Hawthorn, Chairman
  •  Mr. James Chapman,    District 1
  • Mr. Darren Wiggins, District 2
  • Ms. Victoria Redding, District 3
  • Mr. James Russell, District 4
  • Mr. Scott Jay, District 5
  • Crystal Dooley, Secretary

Board Responsibilities

The duties of the Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) include, but are not limited to reviewing administrative appeals and variance requests. Variances are granted in cases of a unique hardship to the property owner if the ordinance provisions were to be strictly applied. 

Board Overview

  • Governed by Division 605 of the Newton County Zoning Ordinance
  • Conducts public hearings for the purpose of soliciting public comments